Bachetti Wins Battle, But Hearn Wins the ’12 Points Title
Darcy and Hilt Capture Exciting Victories on the High Banks
Saturday September 1, 2012
By: Rodney Rescott

The legendary Lebanon Valley Speedway has offered up many exciting finishes and points races of the course of 60 seasons, and the 2012 season was no exception.  Week in and week out the racing action in every class has been action packed and wheel to wheel.  This kind of excitement and action has been nothing short of fantastic for the fans as well as the teams and drivers.

This past Saturday night at the mighty high banks, Pepsi, JH Financial, and Benjamin Moore Paints presented the final night of points for the Big Block Modifieds.  Going into the nights action, Brett Hearn held a slim 35 point lead over Donnie Corellis, in addition, from 3rd to 6th in points were all within 50 points of each other.

So, when the green flag flew on the final 30 lap feature, all eyes, and minds were all on the points challengers.  At the point was the #16 of Kyle Hoffman as he jumped out to the early lead.  However the caution came out early on lap 3 as the #11A of Kyle Armstrong had an engine expire while running mid-pack, cause a melee on the frontstretch as everyone behind him scattered.

All the scattering cause a 4 car pile-up with the #57 of Donnie Corellis making hard contact with the wall, then the #7 of John Ruchel made hard contact with Corellis causing the #7 to nearly flip down the front stretch.  Ruchel’s night was done, including J.C. Flach in the back up #43, and Armstrong.  Corellis was able to make repairs and was able to continue.

Back at the front, Hoffman was still in control, but the points contenders were starting to make their runs.  Eddie Marshall drove his #98 to the 2nd position on lap 6 and began to battle for the lead.  Further back, Brett Hearn and J.R. Heffner was easing their way through traffic, while Corellis struggle to hang on further back.

Andy Bachetti show his muscle, and nerf bar to Marshall on lap 15, taking over the 2nd spot, then after a restart, muscled his way to the lead on lap 26, and checked out to take the win, and the extra $3,000.

At the checkers, Bachetti scored the finale win, with Eddie Marshall rallying for 2nd.  Hoffman had to settle for 3rd with Heffner and Hearn completing the top 5 finishers.  With Hearn finishing in the top 5, and Corellis’ 14th place finish, Brett Hearn captured the 2012 High Point Championship, his 7th at the famed Valley of Speed.

If that weren’t enough drama, the full-fendered Pro Stocks took to the high banks for their 25 lap ECHO Series feature.  The 18 car field came to the green with the #17 of Nick Hilt Jr stepping out to the early lead.  Caution flew on lap 2 for the #24 of Robbie Speed as he suffered a flat tire after contact with another car.

Then, at the green, Hilt jumped out again, this time, the #25 of Chad Jeseo pulled alongside Hilt flexing his muscle, but that as far as he got.  They stayed ad raced side by side, door to door for the next 10 laps until the caution separated them to a single file restart.

At the green, Jeseo resumed his position alongside Hilt, and the two went at it again; this time for the remainder of the 25 laps.  As the two rounded the final turn, still side by side, Hilt gained the slight advantage, and scored the win by just a .25 second margin! 

Jeseo had to settle for a hard and clean fought 2nd place, Victor Hopkins had to sit back and just watch as he settle for 3rd, with Chuck Towslee and Jay Corbin rounding out the top 5 finishers.

In the LV Sportsman 20 lap feature event, the #22G of Dylan Gibson lead the first 14 circuits around the might high banks, but the #21 of Ryan Darcy took control and pulled away to take the victory.  Steve Meilleur squeezed in to finish 2nd followed by Gibson.  Brett Haas and Ron Dwyer battled to finish out the top 5 finishers.

In the Purestock races earlier in the night, Dave Stickles scored the win in PS#1.  Ed Hatch powered his way to the win in PS#2, and Lou Ganczar stayed out of all the trouble to capture the win in PS#3.

Next Saturday Night, September 8th, it’s the Steve Hough Motors and Boomer’s Performance presenting The 9th Annual Boomer’s Performance 20-Lap Purestock Classic, LV-AS Budget Sportsman Challenge Race, 358 Modifieds, Sportsman, Pro Stocks, Purestocks and 4-Cylinders.  Plus this will be the final points in the Steve Hough Motors 358 Modifieds!

Then, on September 15th, it’s the 2012 Season Finale and Final Night of Points in all Divisions.  On tap will be the DiCarlo Auto Body Service Center $1,000 To Win Fall Brawl 50-Lap Budget Sportsman Feature, plus the LV Sportsman, a $1,000 To Win Pro Stock Showdown, and Purestocks and 4-Cylinders to cap it all off!

For more information, final modified point standings, current point standings in the remaining divisions, schedule, tickets and more, visit our website at, and click on ‘Speedway’.  Or you can friend us on Facebook, or follow us on Twitter @LVSpeedway.


PEPSI, JH Financial, Benjamin Moore Paints $3,000 Modified Finale Results (30 Laps): 1)Andy Bachetti, 2)Eddie Marshall, 3)Kyle Hoffman, 4)J.R. Heffner, 5)Brett Hearn, 6)Kolby Schroder, 7)Kyle Sheldon, 8)Brian Berger, 9)Mike King, 10)Matt Pupello, 11)Keith Flach, 12)Kenny Tremont Jr, 13)Jimmy Burns, 14)Donnie Corellis, 15)Steve Hough, 16)Guy Sheldon, 17)Dave McFeeters, 18)Rob Pitcher, 19)Kim LaVoy, 20)Mike Keeler, 21)Kyle Armstrong, 22)John Ruchel, 23)J. C. Flach

LV Sportsman Results (20 Laps): 1)Ryan Darcy, 2)Steve Meilleur, 3)Dylan Gibson, 4)Brett Haas, 5)Ron Dwyer, 6)Brian Sandstedt, 7)Sean Mandel, 8)Chad Pierce, 9)Olden Dwyer, 10)Frank Harper, 11)Kim LaVoy, 12)Darek Schibi, 13)Jason Tompkins, 14)Mike Molloy, 15)Paul Knox, 16)Brandon Page-B, 17)Don Bellen, 18)Brandon Piastka, 19)Rob Maxon-B, 20)Lenny Peckham-B, 21)John Virgilio-B, DNS)Alan Houghtaling, DNS)Dale Lashway, DNS)Tom Athenis

Pro Stock ECHO Series Results (25 Laps): 1)Nick Hilt, 2)Chad Jeseo, 3)Victor Hopkins, 4)Chuck Towslee, 5)Jay Corbin, 6)Jason Casey, 7)Don Carlson, 8)Paul LaRochelle, 9)Robbie Speed, 10)Tom O'Connor, 11)Jon Routhier, 12)David Peck, 13)Frank Twing, 14)Tony DeRose, 15)Buddy Hencke, 16)Rick Spencer, 17)Jay Casey, 18)Mark Dupree, DNS)Paul Engwer, DNS)D.T. Pickard

Purestock #1 Results (8 Laps): 1)Dave Stickles, 2)Jesse, Murphy, 3)Gary O'Brien, 4)Jason Meltz, 5)Jeff Meltz Sr., 6)David Olds JR, 7)Steven LaRochelle, 8)Tim Niles, 9)Joe Chenail, 10)Raymond Mandel, 11)Keri Vandenburg, DNS)Shawn Lancey, DNS)Dave Fachini

Purestock #2 Results (8 Laps): 1)Ed Hatch, 2)Larry Perez, 3)Scott Morris, 4)Shawn Perez, 5)Harold Robitalle, 6)Chris Bierce, 7)Brian Walsh, 8)Bob Brown, 9)Dennis O'Connor, 10)Daniel Sanchez, 11)Ron Johnson, 12)Gary Vandenburg, 13)Justin Smith, 14)Tom Murphy

Purestock #3 Results (12 Laps): 1)Lou Ganczar, 2)Ray Hall Sr, 3)Ed Bachand, 4)John Felarecki, 5)Chris Streeter, 6)Doug Olds, 7)John Devine, 8)Bob Palmer, 9)Al Relyea, 10)Dan Cote, 11)Jim Groncki, 12)James Hatch, 13)Lynn Wesley, 14)Lloyd Tomlin, 15)Phil Wood

For more information, the 2012 schedule, tickets, and links to what's on tap for 2012, visit our website at, and click on “Speedway”, or call the Speedway Offices during regular business hours at (518) 794-9606 or (518) 794-9965.

Come see what Everyone is talking about! 
"Great Food, Great Friends....... and Great Racing!"