Tremont Jr. Cashes in on $3,000 Win, 1st on the Year
Mandel and Corbin Return to Victory Lane
Saturday July 7, 2012
By: Rodney Rescott

The summer heat affected everything on and off the track at the mighty high banks as the racing heated up to a fever pitch.  Legendary driver Kenny Tremont Jr. held off the field to collect his 1st win on the high banks for nearly 2 seasons, while Sean Mandel gets his 2nd career win, and Jay Corbin takes his 2nd win of the year.

Freihofer’s and Bedell Race engines presented the special $3,000 to win Modified 30 lap feature event.  At the point was the #115 of Kenny Tremont Jr. and the #43 of Keith Flach as the green flag flew.  Hard battles throughout the field were beginning to shake out until a scary wreck on lap 8 saw the #57 of Donnie Corellis and #0 of Denny Soltis crash hard into the turn 2 wall.

Soltis’ car flipped up and over the #57 landing back on all 4.  That wreck also collected the #55 of mike Keeler, #74 of J.R. Heffner, #20H of Brett Hearn, #34B of Andy Bachetti, and a couple more.  A red flag paused the action as Soltis’ required additional medical assistance and was sent by ambulance to the hospital as a precaution.

Once the accident was cleared, the green flag flew once again with Tremont and Flach out front.  Caution slowed the field again for the #42s of Kyle Sheldon for a flat tire, then again on lap 14 for a hard wreck in turn 3 involving the #77J of J.C. Flach and the #34H of Steve Hough.  Caution flew again on lap 15 for the spinning #34P of Matt Pupello.

With all that action, Tremont remained cool under pressure and in the end, despite Flach’s persistence, the #115 returned to victory lane.  Flach settled for 2nd, while Rob Pitcher, Eddie Marshall and Brian Berger battled to round out the top 5.

In the LV Sportsman division, Sean Mandel’s #66 took over the top spot from Dylan Gibson on lap 5 and checked out on the field, except for #83 of Chad Pierce.  Pierce ran down Mandel in the closing laps, but came up short and had to settle for 2nd.  Steve Meilleur battled to get to 3rd followed by Ryan darcy and Kim LaVoy.

In the Budget Sportsman 20 lap feature event, the #710 of Greg Catlin and the #96 of Rob Maxon brought the field to the green.  Caution on lap 11 bunched the field back up, but Catlin was still in control of the top spot.  Several caution then kept the field under wraps until lap 17, when the green stayed out for more than 1 lap.

The #97 of Bobby Hackel IV charged to the top spot with the #72 of Ray Hall Jr hot on his heels.  But with no additional cautions, Hackel pulled away and crossed the line first.  Hall crossed the line 2nd followed by Maxon, Robbie Speed, and Whitey Slavin.

A Post Race Protest was filed against the winner and a final ruling will be issued by Tuesday by Track Officials.

In the Pro Stock, full fendered 20 lap feature, Paul LaRochelle brought the field to life with the #10 of Buddy Hencke hot on his bumper.  Cautions once again plagued this event as well.  Including one for the leader LaRochelle, and a flat tire brought his lead to a halt on lap 6.

Hencke was in control until the #8 of Jay Corbin powered his way into the lead by lap 10.  Cautions continued to keep the field slowed. But Corbin had plenty in the tank to keep the field at bay.  Corbin took the win as the #24 of Robbie Speed finished 2nd.  Hencke had to settle for 3rd, with Nick Hilt and Paul LaRochelle battling back to complete the top 5.   

In the Purestocks, young Daniel Sanchez scored his first career win in PS#1, in PS#2 Gary O’Brian gets his first win as well.  And in PS#3, Ray Hall Sr took the checkers.  A special Scott ‘Tiney’ Oles Memorial 24 lap $300 shootout was won by Phil Wood.

Next Saturday Night it’s Rifenburg Construction Night presenting the return of the Steve Hough Motors 358 Modifieds, the Pro Stock Echo Series along with the weekly divisions.  Then it’s the Marchese Ford Monster Jam USHRA Summer Nationals!  As the Monster trucks return to the Valley of Speed on Monday Tuesday and Wednesday July 16th, 17th, and 18th!

Then it’s back for NBT Bank and Rifenburg Construction $5,000 to Win Modified ‘King of the Track’ Shootout with the Budget sportsman and weekly divisions on July 21st.  Then on Sunday July 22nd, it’s the World of Outlaw Sprint Car Series returning to the High Banks!

For more information, tickets, schedule and more; visit our website at and click on ‘Speedway’.  You can also friend us on Facebook, or follow us on Twitter @LVSpeedway.

Freihofer’s and Bedell Race Engines $3,000 Modified Feature Results (30 Laps): 1)Kenny Tremont Jr, 2)Keith Flach, 3)Rob Pitcher, 4)Eddie Marshall, 5)Brian Berger, 6)Kolby Schroder, 7)Brett Hearn, 8)Jimmy Burns, 9)Donnie Corellis, 10)Paul Gilardi, 11)Mike King, 12)John Ruchel, 13)Kyle Armstrong, 14)Kyle Sheldon, 15)Matt Pupello, 16)Mike Keeler, 17)Steve Hough, 18)J. C. Flach, 19)Andy Bachetti, 20)Denny Soltis, 21)J.R. Heffner, 23)John Virgilio,24)Mark Flach Jr,25)Kyle Hoffman, 26)David Baranowski

LV Sportsman Results (20 Laps): 1)Sean Mandel, 2)Chad Pierce, 3)Steve Meilleur, 4)Ryan Darcy, 5)Kim LaVoy, 6)Frank Harper, 7)Brett Haas, 8)Brian Sandstedt, 9)Alan Houghtaling, 10)Darek Schibi, 11)Dylan Gibson, 12)Olden Dwyer, 13)Willy Knight, 14)Jim Bemiss-B, 15)Scot Straight

Budget Sportsman (20 Laps) UNOFFICIAL – Due to Post Race Protest: 1)Bobby Hackel IV, 2)Ray Hall Jr., 3)Rob Maxon, 4)Robbie Speed, 5)Whitey Slavin, 6)Jake Jelley, 7)Rob Knipe, 8)Michael Sabia, 9)Scott Duso, 10)Scott Duel, 11)Chris George, 12)Jim Osgood, 13)Dan Hartgraves, 14)Brian Peterson, 15)Cody Hunt, 16)Cody Ochs, 17)John Virgilio, 18)Zeb Catlin, 19)Collin Clow, 20)Jim Bemiss, 21)Brett Wright, 22)Josh Gaylord, 23)Brandon Page, 24)Chris Lynch, 25)Tommy Johnson, 26)Matt Johnson, 27)Milo Campbell, 28)Nick Hotaling, 29)Peter Carlotto, 30)Todd Lane, DNS)Chris Lysogorski, DNS)David Baronowski, DQ)Greg Catlin

Pro Stock Results (20 Laps): 1)Jay Corbin, 2)Robbie Speed, 3)Buddy Hencke, 4)Nick Hilt, 5)Paul LaRochelle, 6)Jon Routhier, 7)Victor Hopkins, 8)Chuck Towslee, 9)Paul Engwar, 10)John Santolin, 11)Chad Jeseo, 12)Tom O'Connor, 13)Jason Casey, 14)Rick Duzlak, 15)Jay Casey, 16)Milo Campbell, 17)Greg Simmons, 18)Brian Keough, 19)Mark Dupree

Purestock #1 Results (8 Laps): 1)Daniel Sanchez, 2)Dan Cote, 3)Ed Hatch, 4)Steven LaRochelle, 5)Jim Groncki, 6)Gary Vandenburg, 7)Anthony Madalla, 8)Tim Niles, 9)Chris Bierce, 10)Brian Walsh, 11)Dave Fachini, 12)Matt Cross, 13)Keri Vandenburg, 14)Joey Morey

Purestock #2 Results (8 Laps): 1)Gary O'Brien, 2)Doug Olds, 3)Bob Palmer, 4)Dave Stickles, 5)Ed Bachand, 6)Scott Morris, 7)Dan Olds, 8)Joe Chenail, 9)Rich Roger, 10)Larry Perez, 11)Ed Hubbard, 12)Harold Robitalle, 13)Dave Hauser, 14)Dylan Fachini, 15)Shawn Perez

Purestock #3 Results (8 Laps): 1)Ray Hall Sr, 2)Al Relyea, 3)John Felarecki, 4)John Devine, 5)Chris Streeter, 6)Ron Johnson, 7)James Hatch, 8)Phil Wood, 9)Lou Ganczar, 10)Jeff Meltz Sr., 11)Lynn Wesley, 12)Tim Sayers, 13)Llyod Tomlin, 14)Jason Meltz, 15)Bob Brown

Scott “Tiney” Oles Purestock $300 Memorial by Ghetto Child Motorsports Results (24 Laps): 1)Phil Wood

For more information, the 2012 schedule, tickets, and links to what's on tap for 2012, visit our website at, and click on “Speedway”, or call the Speedway Offices during regular business hours at (518) 794-9606 or (518) 794-9965.

Come see what Everyone is talking about! 
"Great Food, Great Friends....... and Great Racing!"